Pine Grove Baptist Church
Pine Grove Baptist Church and Cemetery 836 Pine Grove Road Lugoff, South Carolina 29078
Pine Grove Baptist Church began in 1869. The first four acreas of land was deeded to the church by Mr T. R. Team. The church was constituted in 1872 and the first building was constructed that year. The building was a long room with all the services held in that one room, with homemade pews. It had a seating compacity of about 400. In 1949 Mr and Mrs Joe Donnie Barfield, Sr. deeded four acreas of land, making a total of eight acreas. In the fall of 1949 the church constructed a second church building and this sanctuary was dedicated in February 1950. In 1952 the church constructed its first pastorium and Rev. M. S. McLain was the first Pastor to live in the parsonage. Oct. 1956, new Sunday School rooms were dedicated April 23, 1978, a new sanctuary and educational building was dedicated to the glory of God. August 28, 1983, the fellowship building was completed and dedicated. 1896, a new parsonage was built. Pastors serving Pine Grove Baptist church through the years are: C. D. Patterson, L. A. Shealy, L. H. Carter, W. E. Outlaw. Hoyt Belk, C. C. Howard, J. A. Haile, M. D. Padgett, W. S. Cromer, Connie Dabney, H. A. Allan, B. S. Brooms, B.A. Davis, W. M. Wallace, Oscar Hartis, James Baker, Jack Hudson, Billy Keenan and the present pastor, Douglas Whitfield, who began his service in 1987.